Volunteer Leadership Lauded

Tuesday, September 11 - 5:11pm

At Tuesday’s luncheon, ASIS International’s new Board Management Committee for 2013 was announced by ASIS President Eduard J. Emde, CPP. The 2013 president will be Geoffrey T. Craighead, CPP, of Universal Protection Services of Santa Ana, California. The president-elect will be Richard E. Widup, Jr., CPP, of Purdue Pharma LP, Stamford, Connecticut. The treasurer will be Dave N. Tyson, CPP, Tyson Security Risk Advisory, San Jose, California. The secretary will be David C. Davis, CPP, of Northrop Grumman, San Bernardino, California. Emde will become chairman of the Board of Directors.

Retiring from the Board is its current chair, Raymond T. O’Hara, CPP, of Andrews International. “Few things I have done in my lifetime have given me as great a sense of satisfaction as working with such an impressive, wonderful, and dedicated group of volunteer leaders,” said O’Hara.

O’Hara also announced the death of Timothy J. Walsh, CPP, an early pioneer of ASIS International who served at the committee, chapter, and national level.

Emde then presented the E. J. Criscuoli, Jr., CPP, Volunteer Leadership award to the assistant regional vice president of ASIS Region 16B, Thomas Whittles of Corr Protective Services. The Roy N. Bordes Council Member Award of Excellence was given to Steve Surfaro of Axis Communications, Inc.

John Petruzzi Jr., CPP, president of the ASIS Foundation then took the podium to present the ASIS Donor of Distinction Award to Rebekah L. Wells, CPP, of Guardsmark. (See story, page 19 of the Show Daily)

O’Hara then announced the creation of the Don Walker Award for Enterprise Security Executive Leadership. He made a surprise presentation to its first winner, Milton Moritz, CPP. (See story, page 17 of the Show Daily)



Beyond Print

SM Online

See all the latest links and resources that supplement the current issue of Security Management magazine.